The Astounding Eyes Of Rita

Available in Audiophile 44.1kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
The Astounding Eyes Of Rita 53:18 £19.00
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 The Lover Of Beirut 07:37 44.1/24 Album only
2 Dance With Waves 03:58 44.1/24 Album only
3 Stopover At Djibouti 06:34 44.1/24 Album only
4 The Astounding Eyes Of Rita 08:42 44.1/24 Album only
5 Al Birwa 04:50 44.1/24 Album only
6 Galil 07:15 44.1/24 Album only
7 Waking State 07:47 44.1/24 Album only
8 For No Apparent Reason 06:35 44.1/24 Album only

Price as configured: £19.00

* Required Fields

℗ © 2009 ECM Records GmbH under exclusive license to Universal Music Classics, a Division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

A delightful new project, assembled by Tunisian oud master Brahem with producer Manfred Eicher. Combination of bass clarinet with oud suggests a link to Anouar’s “Thimar” trio, but this East/West line-up often feels closer to the more traditionally-inclined sounds of “Barzakh” or “Conte de l’Incroyable Amour”. Klaus Gesing, from Norma Winstone’s Trio, and Björn Meyer, from Nik Bärtsch’s Ronin, are both players with an affinity for musical sources beyond jazz, and they interact persuasively inside Brahem’s music. A dance of dark, warm sounds, urged onward by the darbouka and frame drum of Lebanaese percussionist Khaled Yassine. The album is dedicated to the memory of Palestinian poet Mahmoud Darwish.