Available in Audiophile 96kHz/24bit

Buy Album
Album Name Length Format Sample Rate Price
26 1:16:41 £16.00
Buy Individual Tracks
# Track Title Length Format Sample Rate Price
1 Toccatina a la Turk 03:22 96/24 Album only
2 Liquid Voices 07:26 96/24 Album only
3 Stranger 09:55 96/24 Album only
4 Prelude 03:19 96/24 Album only
5 Luminous Points 04:53 96/24 Album only
6 Esther 06:36 96/24 Album only
7 Sonata for Viola Solo: I. Agitato 05:06 96/24 Album only
8 Sonata for Viola Solo: II. Semplice 04:42 96/24 Album only
9 Sonata for Viola Solo: III. Ansioso 03:06 96/24 Album only
10 Sonata for Viola Solo: IV. Semplice 00:25 96/24 Album only
11 Photo by Mikel 06:16 96/24 Album only
12 Bicinium 20:41 96/24 Album only

Price as configured: £16.00

* Required Fields

℗ 2017 Sono Luminus
© 2017 Sono Luminus

26 centers around the concept of violists performing and sharing their own compositions. As a violist/composer, I am inspired by the legacy of others who have picked up both bow and pen to create music. 26 was my way of gathering some of my favorite musicians who share a love of the viola, and a love for the new. This album features performances and works by violists Atar Arad, Garth Knox, and myself. Our trio of violists/composers is joined by composer Richard Karpen and violinist Michael Jinsoo Lim. The title of the recording comes from the number of strings on the instruments used: four strings each for the violas of Arad and myself and Lim’s violin; and 14 strings (seven playing and seven sympathetic) for Knox’s viola d’amore. As a student of Atar Arad’s, I had the opportunity to experience his artistry through his teaching, viola playing and his compositions. It was, indeed, Atar’s example that helped lead me to composing myself, along with the experiences culled from my performing career filled with new music and improvisation. I first got to know Garth Knox as an admirer of his work as violist of the Arditti Quartet. I have since had the good fortune to perform with him on a number of occasions, and to get to know him as a composer. Richard Karpen’s sense of experimentation was one of the initial draws for me to join the faculty at the University of Washington, where I am very happy to be his colleague. Michael Jinsoo Lim has been my partner in crime since we met in college. As co-founders of the Corigliano Quartet and members of Frequency, Mike is the musician I most often perform with. - Melia Watras